PIDM announces the appointment of new Board members

Kuala Lumpur, 15 March 2019: Perbadanan Insurans Deposit Malaysia (PIDM) today announced the appointments of new members to its Board of Directors.

The appointments of Datuk Seri Dr. Ismail bin Hj. Bakar and Datuk Saat bin Esa take effect from 18 February 2019.  

Tan Sri Dr. Rahamat Bivi Yusoff, Chairman of PIDM said, “We are pleased to welcome Datuk Seri Dr. Ismail and Datuk Saat as new directors to PIDM's Board. We are confident they will provide valuable perspectives as we continue to execute our strategy and fulfil our mandate as a financial consumer protection and resolution authority.”

Datuk Seri Dr. Ismail was appointed the 14th Chief Secretary to the Government on 28 August 2018 and has over 30 years of extensive experience in the civil service.

He has held several important portfolios including Secretary General of the Agriculture and Agro-based Industry Ministry and Transport Ministry, Budget Director at the National Budget Office of the Ministry of Finance, and Senior Advisor at the World Bank headquarters in Washington DC, United States.

Datuk Seri Dr. Ismail holds a Bachelor of Economics (Hons) degree from Universiti Malaya and a Master of Business Administration and a doctorate from the University of Hull, United Kingdom.

Datuk Saat is the Accountant General of Malaysia. He began his career as an accountant in the government sector in 1983, serving various ministries and government agencies including Ministry of Home Affairs, Ministry of Education, Bintulu Port Authority, Fisheries Development Authority of Malaysia and the Selangor State's Treasury.

Datuk Saat holds a Bachelor with Honours Degree in Accounting and a Master of Business Administration from Universiti Putra Malaysia and Aix-Marseille University, France. He is also a registered Chartered Accountant and a member of the Malaysian Institute of Accountants.

With the new appointments, the members of the Board of Directors of PIDM are:
  • Tan Sri Dr. Rahamat Bivi Yusoff (Chairman)
  • Datuk Nor Shamsiah Mohd Yunus (Governor of Bank Negara Malaysia) – Ex Officio Director
  • Datuk Ahmad Badri Mohd Zahir (Secretary General of the Treasury) – Ex Officio Director
  • Datuk Seri Dr. Ismail bin Hj. Bakar
  • Datuk Saat bin Esa
  • Dato Dr. Nik Ramlah Mahmood
  • Mr. Alex Foong Soo Hah
  • Dato’ Dr. Gan Wee Beng
  • Ms. Gloria Goh Ewe Gim.
For more information about this press release, kindly contact:
Masami Mustaza, Manager, Communications and Public Affairs Division
(Tel: 03 2265 4622; Email:

PIDM is a statutory body that provides protection against the loss of deposit and insurance or takaful benefits with its member institutions in the event of a failure. PIDM is entirely funded by premiums or levies assessed on its member institutions and does not receive public funds to operate. It has the means under the PIDM Act to borrow or raise such funds as may be needed to fulfil its statutory obligations to protect financial consumers of its member institutions. As an integral part of the national financial safety net, PIDM promotes and contributes to the stability of the financial system.
For further information:
  • Call 1-800-88-1266, 8.30am to 5.30pm on Mondays to Fridays (excluding public holidays)
  • Email:
  • Visit: 
Share to