Home > About PIDM > Board of Directors > Tan Sri Dato’ Sri Dr. Zeti Akhtar Aziz - Board Member

Board of Directors
Tan Sri Dato’ Sri Dr. Zeti Akhtar Aziz
Board Member
Tan Sri Dato’ Sri Dr. Zeti Akhtar Aziz was appointed the Governor of Bank Negara Malaysia since May 2000 and is one of the two ex officio Members of the Board.

As Governor, she has a key role in monetary policy formulation and implementation and in ensuring stability of the Malaysian financial system. She also oversaw the successful transformation of the Malaysian financial system into one of the most developed and resilient financial systems in an emerging economy.

Dr. Zeti is actively involved in shaping the future of financial cooperation in the Asian region and is an important voice for the emerging economies in the international financial fora. She chaired the Executives’ Meeting of East Asia Pacific Central Banks taskforce to draw up the blueprint for future regional financial cooperation. Dr. Zeti is a member of the Bank for International Settlements (BIS) Central Bank Governance Group and a founding member of the Asian Consultative Council for the BIS. Dr. Zeti also continues to promote the development of Islamic finance, domestically and internationally. She served as the Islamic Financial Services Board Council Chairman for the 2007 term and was also the Chairperson of the International Islamic Liquidity Management Corporation (IILM) Governing Board until 2011. Dr. Zeti is currently the Chairperson of the IILM’s Board Executive Committee. She also chaired a high-level international taskforce mooted by the Islamic Development Bank, which examined the role and relevance of Islamic finance in promoting global financial stability. Dr. Zeti was a member of the United Nations Commission of Experts to examine possible reforms in the global financial system.

Dr. Zeti received her Bachelor of Economics (Honours) from the University of Malaya and her PhD from the University of Pennsylvania.


Name :  
Message :  
Send to friend
Your message (click here):
Also In This Section :

Tan Sri Datuk Dr. Abdul Samad Haji Alias

Tan Sri Dato’ Sri Dr. Zeti Akhtar Aziz

Tan Sri Dr. Mohd Irwan Serigar Abdullah

Datuk Dr. Rahamat Bivi Yusoff

Dato’ Halipah Esa

Mr. George Anthony David Dass

Mr. Lim Tian Huat

Mr. Alex Foong Soo Hah

Encik Mohamad Abdul Halim Ahmad

Bookmark This Article :

Digg del.icio.us Facebook Mixx Google Furl StumbleUpon Wikio YahooMyWeb

Share on Facebook